Institut Lafayette

Institut Lafayette is an innovation platform located on the Technopole of Metz in France, adjacent to the building of Georgia-Tech Lorraine, the European campus of the Georgia Institute of Technology. Its mission is to simultaneously provide access to world-class facilities/expertise in advanced semiconductor materials/devices research and prototyping for innovations in optoelectronics, and to offer an array of technology transfer services that will accelerate and increase the efficiency of commercialization of these innovations. The newly created institute is housed in a brand new 25,000 sq.ft. building comprised of offices, laboratories and a 5,000 sq.ft. cleanroom fully equipped with state-of-the-art characterization, fabrication, and pilot manufacturing equipment to enable innovations and training in optoelectronics and inorganic/organic semiconductors.



Institut Lafayette






Institut Lafayette is an independent French private entity managed by Georgia Tech. It aims at creating new business and research opportunities through extended partnerships with public and private organizations, especially in the area of energy and materials.

Project timeline:

November 2007: Letter of Intent sent to Lorraine’s regional council representatives.

Steering Committee: Bernard Kippelen (Chair), Abdallah Ougazzaden, Bertrand Comet-Barthes, Yves Berthelot, Steve McLaughlin, Kevin Martin, Paul Lewis.

November 2010: Signing of the protocole d’accord in Atlanta during France/Atlance 2010.

60_457_03 (7)


From left to right:

Yves Berthelot (GIT), Bud P. Peterson (President GIT), Jean-Yves LeDeault (CRL), Francois Lavergne (CG Moselle),  Jean-Luc Bohl (Metz-Metropole).


April 2012: Creation of the legal entity for Institut Lafayette

Photo1 signature AG IL 2 avril

From left to right:

Back: Gilbert Krausener (MM), Jean-Yves LeDeault (CRL), Jean-Luc Bohl (MM), Francois Lavergne (CG Moselle), Serge Perrine (Supelec)

Front: Yves Berthelot, Bernard Kippelen, Abdallah Ougazzaden


October 2012: Groundbreaking ceremony

Pose 1ere pierre Oct 2012

From left to right:

Yves Berthelot, Bernard Kippelen, Steve Cross (Executive Vice-President for Research, GIT), Francois Lavergne (CG Moselle), Jean-Luc Bohl (Metz-Metropole), Dominique Gros (Mayor of Metz), Nacer Meddah (Préfet).



May 2014: Inauguration of the building







December 2014: Master agreements signed with University of Lorraine, the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), an industrial partners PSA and MagPower.

IL CNRS UdL Dec 2014







April 2016: Inauguration of the OVPD and signing of a MOU with Aixtron during the visit of French Minister Thierry Mandon, Secrétaire d’Etat Chargé de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche, and German Consul Marianne Therre-Mano.

Minister Thierry Mandon and German Consul Marianne Therre-Mano and elected officalsSignature BK Ministre lr